Who is currently on the parish council?

The parish council normally comprises five members. There is currently one vacancy.

Anne Budd

8 Ash Tree Grove, Hamstead Marshall RG20 0HJ

07865 668201

David Hadnutt

The Barn House, Holtwood, RG20 0JH

Kevin Barbey

Watery Lane Farm, Holtwood, RG20 0JH

Liz Copas

1 Ash Tree Grove, RG20 0HJ

07557 380670


Parish clerk:  Camilla West

Who can join the parish council?

The parish council is re-elected every four years, the next election date being May 2023.
Any parishioner may stand for election to the parish council or, in the event of an uncontested vacancy, apply to serve.
In practice there has never been a surplus of candidates to prompt an election, and so the council is composed of residents who have continuously volunteered to serve.
When a vacancy occurs between elections the existing councillors choose a replacement.
Anyone interested in serving on the parish council should contact the chair.

When and where does the parish council meet?

Parish council meetings are held on the third Thursday of every second month in the village hall, starting at 20.00 (Jan, Mar, May etc).
All parishioners are entitled to attend the meetings, but public participation is at the discretion of the chair. There is no automatic right to be heard from the floor at council meetings. The annual parish assembly, which is held each May, is an annual opportunity for parishioners to express their own views. At any time any parishioner who is concerned about a local issue may ask any councillor or the parish clerk for the matter to be raised at a council meeting.
The parish council runs its own website detailing details of meetings, agendas, policies, procedures, codes of practice and the current year's budget.